Thomson Medal Award

The Thomson Medals are named after Sir J.J. Thomson who was responsible for the first mass spectrograph and its resulting data more than 100 years ago. He also predicted many features of modern mass spectrometry. Thomson discovered the electron using mass spectrometry and won the Nobel Prize in 1906 for his research.

The Medals are sponsored by the International Mass Spectrometry Foundation (IMSF) and were first awarded in 1985.


2020 Thomson Medal Award winners

Professor Alison Ashcroft (University of Leeds, UK) and Professor Ron Heeren (Maastricht University, Netherlands).

IMSC2020 -2020 Thomson Medal Award winners



Previous winners

The previous winners are:

  • 2018: J. R. Heck, J. R. Yates
  • 2016: N. Eberlin, S. McLuckey
  • 2014: V. Robinson, R. Zenobi
  • 2012: Aebersold, A. Makarov, F. Tureček
  • 2009: E. Costello, C. C. Fenselau and P. Roepstorff
  • 2006: H. Bowie, M. L. Gross and M. Karas
  • 2003: M. Caprioli, F. Hillenkamp and V. L. Talrose
  • 2000: B. Fenn, D. F. Hunt and A. G. Marshall
  • 1997: T. Bowers, D. E. Games and J. F. J. Todd
  • 1994: Brunnée, C. Djerassi and H. Schwarz
  • 1991: Biemann, H. Matsuda and N. M. M. Nibbering
  • 1985: H. Beynon, R. G. Cooks, K. R. Jennings, F. W. McLafferty and A. O. C. Nier


Copyright 2018 - 2022 IBERO2022 © All Rights Reserved. Proudly developed by WebContent.